Ponderings from a Procrastinating Prognosticator

My Mr. Toast Collection

Posted by samatwitch on March 5, 2012

In 2008, people and events conspired – in a great way – to get me to the annual San Diego Comic-Con.  It was the first year the con sold out and it was overwhelming, joyous, inspiring, hot, sweaty, crowded, delightful, invigorating, informative, and very well-co-ordinated.  One of the main reasons I wanted to go was to meet some of my online friends who were going and that’s still one of the main reasons I’ve continued to go.  The other main reason was/is to see and hear Joss Whedon in person, even if it’s at a distance or more visible on a big screen.  (Last year I got to sit in the front row for his panel and that was great!)

Before I left, I planned every detail that I could and one of the things I did was make a list of what I wanted to purchase in the exhibition hall – and exactly where those particular boothes were.  Every year, dealers at the Con have exclusives – items which can only – or at first – be bought at SDCC.  The first one that caught my attention was Vampire Mr. Toast.  Although I’m not a big fan of vampires, I am a huge fan of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and this ‘doll’ just made me smile.  I had never heard of Mr. Toast but apparently he has many friends. Since then, I have added to my collection each year: Vampire Mr. Toast, Ninja Joe the Egg, Devil Bacon & Frankentoast.  (Last year I also purchased Leif the Leaf and I bought Vampire Candy Corn for a friend.)  Here’s a picture of my collection, along with a rat from Pennsic given by a friend.

 

 

Leave a Reply

 
